In cases that involve a victim suffering a financial setback, an Atlanta judge may order the perpetrator of the crime to pay the victim for their losses. This payment is known as restitution.
For example, if someone assaulted you and you ended up in the emergency room, the defendant may be ordered to cover your medical expenses.
Typically, restitution isn’t a complete sentence but is accompanied by something like incarceration or probation.
There are states and the guidelines that govern who can receive restitution and how the judge determines its amount.
Restitution vs. Fines
While restitution is paid to the victim of the crime, fines are paid to the government. Fines are used as a punishment and are intended to put a stop to any future criminal behavior. It is likely that during sentencing, the judge will require that both restitution and fines be paid by the offender.
How Is Restitution Paid?
The collection and distribution of restitution varies by state. In Georgia, you have a minimum of 90 days to begin paying your restitution fees. Payments are to be made to the Georgia Department of Corrections, who will then forward the payments to the victim(s). Parolees are required to pay a minimum of $30.00 per month.
Learn More About Restitution by Speaking with an Attorney
If you’re the victim of a crime and want to see if you’re eligible to receive restitution to help cover your losses, then call Jeff Manciagli, our Atlanta, Georgia attorney. We’ll gladly review your case and give you our recommendations throughout the entire process.
Posted on behalf of
66 Lenox Pointe NE, Building #66
Atlanta, GA 30324
Phone: (404) 642-9080
Monday & Tuesday 8:30 AM – 7:00 PM
Wednesday & Thursday 8:30 AM – 5:00 PM
Friday 8:30 AM – 2:00 PM